How Long Until Utah “Complies” With Federal Requests for Hundreds of Data Points on Individuals?   16 comments

Today I called Jerry Winkler, Utah Information Technology Director to ask questions about the federally paid-for  State Longitudinal Database System
He was very gracious and I appreciated his willingness to answer questions.
I asked him if he could verify the information I’d received from the state school board, that the reason that a Utah student is not able to opt out of the SLDS tracking system, is because of limitations of technology.
( I had received that idea from the state school board:  “Current data systems do not allow for individual student data to be withheld from the data submission process.”
See email here: https://whatiscommoncore.wordpress.com/2012/07/28/usoe-the-answer-is-no-can-a-student-attend-public-school-without-being-p-20slds-tracked/ )
But Jerry Winkler told me that it’s not a technology limitation.
“It’s a policy question,” he said, and directed me to inquire further about the policy from Carol Lear, the top lawyer at the Utah State Office of Education.
I shuddered.  I know more than I want to about  Carol Lear, the top U.S.O.E. lawyer.   Just FYI:  Carol Lear told me last year that since “the whole point is to be common” — it was of no importance that there’s no amendment process to Common Core.   She also told me she believed a cost analysis had been done on Common Core in Utah, when there had not –and still has not.   She displayed zero respect for the 10th Amendment and the  General Educational Provisions Act. and told me that she had never heard of the Cooperative Agreement and she thought it was a hoax.  Finally, she refused to respond to further questions and told me to go talk the the public relations department.  With no sense of valiance in defending states’ rights, would Lear balk at caving in to any request the federal Dept. of Education made of Utah?
Back to today:
I asked Jerry Winkler how compliant our state has been, so far, to the requests from the federal government at the Data Quality Campaign and the National Data Collection Model, those federal websites which request hundreds of non-academic data points about children from schools (including nicknames, family, voting, income, health and psychological information, etc.)
He verfied that Utah does submit information gathered by schools to the federal government, but assured me that right now, Utah is giving only aggregated (grouped) information to the federal government (He verified that this takes place at the portal called the Edfacts Exchange )
Winkler said that right now, Utah is keeping dis-aggregated data (personally identifiable data) inside the state at the SLDS database.
“Who or what would change that?” I asked, “At what point will Utah give in to federal requests to give up disaggregated (personal) data to the federal government, as well? Who makes the call to be more “compliant” with the federal requests?
Carol Lear, he said.  She is the one who would make the call.
Yikes.
Jerry Winkler also told me he believed that students could opt out of being tracked by the State Longitudinal Database System at the local LEA level, but if the data was entered by the LEA, it would automatically be sent to the SLDS and Utah Data Alliance, at which point opting out would end.
I had not heard this.  I will be asking my LEA how to accomplish that.
I asked Jerry Winkler if he had read of the Department of Education’s destructive alterations to federal FERPA (privacy law) and of the lawsuit over the matter, brought by the Electronic Privacy Information Center.
He had not heard of it. 

16 responses to “How Long Until Utah “Complies” With Federal Requests for Hundreds of Data Points on Individuals?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If you want to find your LEA; put in Local Education Agency in NC/or your state initials. You should be able to find your state and scroll down to find your county. I will be going to mine!

  2. Great Job!!! I will be looking into all this info for Florida. So much to do and so little time in my day!

    Debbie Higginbotham
  3. I cannot find who our LEA is in Grand County. Maybe we use a different name. Can you help me?

  4. Hi there are using WordPress for your site platform?

    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and
    set up my own. Do you need any html coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  5. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment
    is added I get three e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Cheers!

  6. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button!
    I’d without a doubt donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will share this website with my Facebook
    group. Talk soon!

  7. Excellent site you have here but I was curious if
    you knew of any message boards that cover
    the same topics discussed in this article?
    I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get feed-back from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Appreciate it!

  8. You actually make it appear really easy together with your presentation but I find this matter to be really something that
    I think I’d never understand. It seems too complicated and extremely large for me. I’m looking ahead for your next
    put up, I will try to get the cling of it!

  9. It’s really very difficult in this active life to listen news on Television,
    so I just use web for that purpose, and take the newest news.

  10. Before recording, Thad and Jason like to write with artists to get an understanding of who they
    are and where they want to be. s identity is normally decided or molded
    by some guy in a suit who. it was at that place where she gained her epiphany – that the feeling of confusion in her is actually the
    feeling of love that she had for Abel.

  11. May I simply just say what a relief to find somebody who really knows what they are discussing on the web.
    You certainly understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important.
    More people have to check this out and understand this
    side of your story. I was surprised you aren’t more popular
    given that you most certainly have the gift.

  12. Interesting Read

  13. Unquestionably believe that which you stated.
    Your favorite rason appeared to be on the internet the easiest thing
    to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly gget irked whie people
    think about worries that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit
    the nail upon the top and defineed out the whole thing withouit having side-effects ,
    people can take a signal. Willl probably be backk to get more.
    Thanks

  14. Appreciate this post. Lett mee try itt out.

Comments are welcome here.