BYU Professor Alan Manning Expresses Concerns About Common Core Slashing Story Writing and Classic Story Reading   23 comments

BYU professor Alan Manning of the Department of Linguistics and English Language has given me permission to publish his email communication, which explains what the problem is with Common Core’s increase of informational text and the decreasing of English literature. 

 Professor Manning’s observations about the Core standards…

1. Existing reading/writing instruction strategies are by an large not as effective as any competent teacher would like them to be, and not as effective as they can be, but the Core standards just set in concrete approaches to reading/writing that we already know don’t work very well. Having the Core standards set in concrete means that any attempts to innovate and improve reading/writing instruction will certainly be crushed. Actual learning outcomes will stagnate at best.

2. An argument can be made that any improvement in reading/writing instruction should include more rather than less attention the reading/analysis of stories known to effective in terms of structure (i.e. “classic” time-tested stories). An argument can be made that any improvement in reading/writing instruction should include more rather than fewer exercises where students write stories themselves that are modeled on the classics. This creates a more stable foundation on which students can build skills for other kinds of writing. The Core standards would prevent public schools from testing these kinds of approaches.

 3. These arguments are elaborated in the attached article (proof copy of the final published article):

A. D. Manning, “The Syntax of Plot Frames in Storytelling,” Schwa, Brigham University Humanities Publication Center, 2012.

See also, extended discussion of the implications of this article for writing instruction here (KBYU radio, “Thinking Aloud” program for July 6, 2012.

http://www.classical89.org/thinkingaloud/archive/episode/?id=7/6/2012

If you can find time to read the article and listen to the discussion of its implications, you’ll have some ammunition to forestall a full-scale draconian implementation of the Core.

Another problem with it seems to me to be that it amounts to state-supported crony capitalism: Apparently some non-gov’t entity holds the copyright to these teaching materials and stands to profit immensely by having the State grant that private concern an effective monopoly over the learning-materials/testing business.

 All possible competitors are shut out even if they offer a better product. Is the Governor for truly free markets or isn’t he?

AM

23 responses to “BYU Professor Alan Manning Expresses Concerns About Common Core Slashing Story Writing and Classic Story Reading

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow, nice article…keep share…http://www.uctpa.com

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Professors Calling Out Common Core’s So-called College Readiness | COMMON CORE

  3. In the words of Jack Kerouac: “It isn’t what you write, it is the way you write it.” And you do it properly!I really can’t decide
    if I want to share this blog with my pals or keep it as
    my personal private secret…

  4. Pingback: Dads Too, Mr. Duncan | COMMON CORE

  5. Hello, after reading this awesome post i am as well delighted
    to share my familiarity here with friends.

  6. Pingback: What Is Common Core: 101 | COMMON CORE

  7. Superb article, I simply passed this onto a co-worker who had been doing a little bit of research
    on that. And he in reality purchased me lunch since I found it for him.

  8. For this reason, it is essential that you take care of your plumbing system.
    Leaky Faucet Plumbing Services: There are a lot of choices when selecting faucets and other accessories for your home or
    office. With the help from clientele documented support, the company is proficient
    to take care of all your residential plumbing requirements.

  9. I don’t know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else experiencing problems with your website.

    It seems like some of the text on your content
    are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide
    feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well?
    This may be a issue with my internet browser because
    I’ve had this happen before. Many thanks

  10. excellent issues altogether, you just gained a logo new reader.
    What might you suggest about your publish that you just made some
    days ago? Any certain?

  11. Pingback: Top Ten Professors Calling Out Common Core’s So-called College Readiness | Halt Common Core

  12. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your
    web site. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems?
    A number of my blog readers have complained about my blog not working correctly
    in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any advice to help fix this issue?

  13. Terrific post but I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this subject?

    I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further.
    Thank you!

  14. I pay a visit every day some web sites and sites to
    read articles, except this website gives feature based writing.

  15. I read this article fully regarding the comparison of hottest and earlier technologies, it’s amazing article.

  16. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say
    that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you
    write again soon!

  17. This post provides clear idea for the new people of blogging, that
    actually how to do blogging.

  18. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My website has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it appears a
    lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement.
    Do you know any ways to help protect against content from being ripped off?
    I’d really appreciate it.

  19. Awesome blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.

    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for
    a paid option? There are so many choices out there
    that I’m completely confused .. Any suggestions?
    Bless you!

  20. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is
    needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?

    I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% sure.
    Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Kudos

  21. What’s up, this weekend is fastidious in support of me, for the reason that
    this occasion i am reading this fantastic educational piece
    of writing here at my residence.

  22. I just like the valuable info you provide on your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and take a look at again right here regularly.
    I’m fairly sure I will be informed lots of new stuff proper right here!
    Best of luck for the following!

  23. I have read so many posts on the topic of the blogger lovers except this post is
    truly a pleasant article, keep it up.

Comments are welcome here.