TX Education Commissioner Robert Scott: Testimony Opposing Common Core 2-6-2013   2 comments

Robert Scott was the Texas Commissioner of Education when Common Core rolled into town on the Race to the Top grant application train.

In this video, he says many important things.  None are more important than his opening, where he states that his experience with the Common Core started:  “when I was asked to sign on to them before they were written. I was told I needed to sign a letter agreeing to the Common Core and I asked if I might read them first, which is, I think, appropriate and I was told they hadn’t been written but they still wanted my signature on the letter.  And I said, ‘That’s absurd; first of all I don’t have the legal authority to do that because our law requires our elected state board of education to adopt curriculum standards to be done with the direct input of Texas teachers, parents and business.  So adopting something that was written behind closed doors in another state would not meet my state law.”

This is an extremely important testimony for anyone weighing the decision of remaining tied to Common Core rules, or breaking free.

2 responses to “TX Education Commissioner Robert Scott: Testimony Opposing Common Core 2-6-2013

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reblogged this on Now that you Mention it and commented:
    See Mr. Scott’s testimony for a quick explanation of how Common Core was created, and how the federal government broke the law by setting up “consortia” — essentially, shell companies, to do what they are not allowed to do themselves.

  2. Pingback: TX Education Commissioner Robert Scott: Testimony Opposing Common Core 2-6-2013 | Conservative Teachers of America

Comments are welcome here.

